All flesh is as grass…

Well hello everybody!!! My name is Robert Battye, I live in Halls Creek WA and I would like to start off by telling you about myself and what Jesus has done in my life. I will be using this blog as a journal every now and then and updating it on things God is doing in Halls Creek, and in my life here.

Born in Elizabeth SA on Feb 25 1981, I was raised in a christian home, which I thank God for. I have great parents who were faithful to God in bringing us up in the ways of God. I have two older brothers, I am the youngest, and most spoilt, lol! I won’t mention my family’s names at this point, just in case they don’t want to be mentioned on the net!

The first 5 years of my life were at semaphore south, right near the beach, that’s right…I was one of the beach boys, ha ha!  I loved the beach, and still do, the expert sand castle maker! (try beat me!)

Then at the age of 5 we moved to Whyalla…I was shattered, leaving my cousins who lived down the road from us and the beach and whatever else a 5 year old cared about…but eh, i got over it quick…but i always missed my cousins, especially the one my age, who i used to play with all the time…nyoorn!  Whyalla was amazing…yeah, salt bush, red dirt, and the beautiful BHP…what an amazing view that was to behold coming into town for the first time…and in fact, every time!

Anyway, to make a long story short, skipping all the ins and outs of my fun childhood…which it was mind you, Whyalla really was a great place to grow up and it stirred in me a love for the bush and I always used to think of running away into the bush and seeing what was out there. Every time we drove to adelaide and went through Pt Augusta, I always looked down the road towards Cooper Pedy and wonder in amazement what was out there, longing to take off and explore…but eh, I was too young, and the though the thought excited me about running off by myself to explore, i just couldn’t bring myself to do it…where would i get fed? Yes, I would miss Mummy’s cooking too much…thus, my stomach motivated me to stay!

However, I grew up, learned after all these years to work to support myself, and at the age of 23 I went exploring the outback!!!

But backing up now, at the age of 15, it was then that I gave my heart to the Lord. Though I grew up in a christian home, I never really knew Jesus personally…I just always asked forgiveness from him for all the mistakes i made for the day when I was on my bed at night…then made them all again the next day! and so was the routine till i was 14, when i saw a demon on the end of my bed and hid under my covers repeating in fear the name of Jesus…I started then to realize that I needed God in my life, and so started to actually want to go to church…for a while, then I lost that fear and just continued on in my own ways. I was drawn away by the crowd, wanting to please my mates at school instead of God, but again, after a scary encounter, almost drowning at Pt Lowly, I thought about my life, and I knew Jesus was real.

I still never fully gave my heart to Him untill I was 15, in october 1996, at a youth camp in Barmera, Lake Bonney (we had moved to the Barossa Valley at this stage). I didn’t know what it was called then, but I felt a hunger for God at that camp and responded to the call for salvation, and it was from then I stopped smoking,  stopped caring about what my mates thought about me, and started to read the Word of God like there was no tomorrow, just devouring it every night (to the neglect of my homework mind you, maybe God cared about that, maybe He didn’t, but He was sure speaking to me in those days and revealing Himself to me, so maybe He didn’t, He just wanted me to be with Him most of all! I am not discouraging homework or responsibilites, please hear me, I really wish I did better at school, and later on I sure did learn how to study and work hard…but there are more important things, eternal things that God wants us to know and live in more than the temporary things of this world).

One week after that camp, the Lord showed me a scripture I hadn’t read in a dream, and when I woke up, I found it exactly where it was in my dream. The scripture is found in 1 Peter 1:24-25:

“All flesh is as grass, and all the glory of man is as the flower of the grass; the grass withers, the flowers fall away; but the Word of the Lord endures forever.”

Out of this the Lord spoke to me saying the world and it’s ways are not worth living for, live for God, live to share His Word that eternal and is truly life giving. Everything in this world is empty and passing away, so hold onto God.

Since then, in my teens I stayed in His Word, by the age of 23, I hungered to go out on the mission field, and through a series of events, felt God lead me to the outback, to where I am living now, Halls Creek WA. I have made many mistakes, coz of not staying in obedience to His Word, have learnt by experience that “all flesh is as grass,” but the main thing is not how many times you fall, it’s if you get back up and try again. I will always get back up, I will never quit, coz Jesus never did. I once did, and for two and a half years I was out in the world, trying to make it on my own, but ya can’t. No one can make it without God, if ya haven’t found that out yet, I pray you find it out before ya die, or before Jesus comes back.

God bless you mob and take care,

Rob “Jungari” Battye 🙂

Leave a Reply

