As for me and my house – Joshua 24

“But if you refuse to serve the Lord, then choose today whom you will serve. Would you prefer the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphraites? Or will it be the gods of the Amorites in whose land you now live? But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.” (Josh 24:15)

In this final chapter, Joshua summons all the tribes of Israel and renews the covenant of the Lord with them. He tells them how Abraham was called, right through to the present day, reminding them of what the Lord has done for them, to bring them into the promised land. So he gives them a clear choice, either serve their pagan gods or serve the Lord. They agree to serve the Lord, so he renews the covenant with them. After this, Joshua dies at the age of 110, and Eleazar the son of Aaron also dies. The land being possessed, finally Joseph’s bones were buried at Shechem, in the promised land.

Everyone else may be following after the things of the world, but what will you do? Joshua declares, “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” It doesn’t matter what everyone else is doing, the important thing is that you and your family are serving the Lord. Why let others stop you from fulfilling the call of God and spending eternity with Jesus? Nothing else is worth your time- His Kingdom, His righteousness, His presence and His Word is what life is all about. You can have anything else, but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord!

“Lord, help me to stay focussed throughout my whole life on You and Your Kingdom- because that’s what’s really important. When I go astray on other paths, lead me back to the straight and narrow and follow You all the days of my life, in Jesus’ name, amen.”

*Matt 7:13-14; Col 3:1-7; 1 Peter 1:24-25

Leave a Reply

